An NIH-designated Center of Biomedical Research Excellence (COBRE)

Executive Committee

Dawn Elliot

Dawn Elliott

Principal Investigator and Center Director
Blue & Gold Distinguished Professor,
Biomedical Engineering
University of Delaware
delliott@udel.edu
Profile

Velia Fowler

Velia Fowler

Associate Center Director
Chairperson and Professor,
Biological Sciences
University of Delaware
vfowler@udel.edu
Profile

Kim Bothi, Director

Liyun Wang

Director, DCMR Multiscale Assessments Research Core
Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Professor, Biological Sciences
University of Delaware
lywang@udel.edu
Profile

X. Lucas Lu

X. Lucas Lu

Associate Director, DCMR Multiscale Assessments Research Core
Professor, Mechanical Engineering
University of Delaware
xlu@udel.edu
Profile

Administrative and Technical Staff

Darrin Pochan

Mary Boggs

Lead Scientist
Biomedical Engineering
University of Delaware
mboggs@udel.edu

Darrin Pochan

Susan Giancola

Faysal Haque

Faysal Haque

Research Associate II
Biomedical Engineering
University of Delaware
faysal@udel.edu

Darrin Pochan

Lori May

Business Administrator
Biomedical Engineering
University of Delaware
lorimay@udel.edu

Darrin Pochan

Charles Riley

Histology Technician
Biomedical Engineering
University of Delaware
criley@udel.edu

Darrin Pochan

Christina Stinger

Animal Health Technician
Ofc Laboratory Animal Medicine
University of Delaware
cms@udel.edu

Research Projects

Darrin Pochan

Charles Dhong

Research Project Leader 2022
Assistant Professor,
Material Science & Engineering
Biomedical Engineering
University of Delaware
cdhong@udel.edu
Profile

Darrin Pochan

Elise Corbin

Research Project Leader 2021
Assistant Professor,
Biomedical Engineering
Materials Science and Engineering
University of Delaware
ecorbin@udel.edu
Profile
Darrin Pochan

Joohyun (Jason) Lim

Assistant Professor
Biological Sciences
University of Delaware
limj@udel.edu
Profile

Darrin Pochan

Justin Parreno

Research Project Leader 2021
Assistant Professor,
Biological Sciences
Biomedical Engineering
University of Delaware
jparreno@udel.edu
Profile

Pilot Projects

Alvin Su

Alvin W. Su

Pilot Project Awardee 2023
Sports Medicine Surgeon,
Pediatric Orthopedic Surgeon,
Nemours Children’s Health
Assistant Professor
Orthopaedic Surgery,
Thomas Jefferson University
Assistant Professor
Biomedical Engineering,
University of Delaware
alvin.su@nemours.org

Emily Day

Emily Day

Pilot Project Awardee 2022
Associate Professor,
Biomedical Engineering
University of Delaware
emilyday@udel.edu
Profile

X. Lucus Lu

X. Lucas Lu

Pilot Project Awardee 2022
Associate Professor,
Mechanical Engineering
University of Delaware
xlu@udel.edu
Profile

Darrin Pochan

Charles Dhong

Project Leader 2021
Assistant Professor,
Material Science & Engineering
Biomedical Engineering
University of Delaware
cghong@udel.edu
Profile

Darrin Pochan

Christopher Price

Pilot Project Awardee 2021
Associate Professor,
Biomedical Engineering
University of Delaware
cprice@udel.edu
Profile

New Hire Faculty

Darrin Pochan

Stephanie Cone

Assistant Professor
Biomedical Engineering
University of Delaware
sgcone@udel.edu
Profile

Darrin Pochan

Joohyun (Jason) Lim

Assistant Professor
Biological Sciences
University of Delaware
limj@udel.edu
Profile

Darrin Pochan

Brian Kwee

Assistant Professor
Biomedical Engineering
University of Delaware
bkwee@udel.edu
Profile

Andre Tavares

Andre Pasqua Tavares

Assistant Professor
Biological Sciences
University of Delaware
tavaresa@udel.edu
Profile

Internal Advisory Committee

Anderson Janotti

Thomas Buchanan

Anderson Janotti

David Edwards

Anderson Janotti

Gregory Hicks

Professor, Physical Therapy
Assoc Vice President, Research Office
Director, CTR Program, Physical Therapy
University of Delaware
ghicks@udel.edu
Profile
Anderson Janotti

Kristi Kiick

Chairperson, Biomedical Engr
Blue & Gold Distinguished Prof, Materials Science
Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engr
University of Delaware
kiick@udel.edu
Profile

External Advisory Committee

Anderson Janotti

Warren Grayson

Professor & Vice-Chair Faculty Affairs,
Biomedical Engineering
Director, Laboratory for Craniofacial and Orthopaedic Tissue Engineering
John Hopkins University, MD
Research

Anderson Janotti

Edward Guo

Chair and Stanley Dicker Professor,
Biomedical Engineering
Professor, Medical Sciences
Director, Bone Bioengineering Laboratory
Columbia University, NY
Research

Vicki Rosen

Vicki Rosen

Professor, Developmental Biology
Chair, Department of Developmental Biology
Harvard School of Dental Medicine
Research

Deborah Veis

Deborah Veis (Novack)

Professor
Director, Histology and Morphometry Core
Musculoskeletal Research Center 
Division of Bone and Mineral Diseases, Department of Medicine
Department of Pathology and Immunology
Washington University School of Medicine
Research

Anderson Janotti

Hai Yao

Ernest R. Norville Endowed Chair and Professor, Bioengineering
Associate Chair, MUSC Joint Bioengineering Program
COBRE Director, Translational Research Improving Musculoskeletal Health
Clemson University, SC
Professor, Oral Health Sciences
Medical University of South Carolina, SC
Research